Frika what? Frikadeller! AKA Danish Meatballs

I’m not going to lie, I am blogging about one of my ALL TIME favourite danish food items. When i used to live in Denmark I would gobble these bad boys down at ANY occasion. My host family used to keep a bag of them in the freezer and I would secretly take a few everyday and warm them up; hoping that they wouldn’t notice that their stash was slowly being depleted.

The reason I made frikadeller (pronounced Fri-ka-day-ler)  was because my friend Emily was over. Emily, a fellow j-schooler, is off to the Danish School of Journalism in Århus. We thought it would be fun for her to come over, sample some Danish food, listen to some danish music, and just catch up!

To get you into the mood while making this recipe check out this classic danish 80’s song: Kom tilbage nu. I have fond memories of singing this song into the wee hours of the morning with my pals. While Danish food can be a little plain (aka a lack of seasonings beyond salt and pepper) its tasty none the less.  Serve these bad boys with potatoes and cooked cabbage for an authentic danish food!

The last lesson for this post is an essential phrase everyone must know if they are going to make frikadeller: Jeg elsker at spise frikadeller!  (I love to eat danish meatballs!)

Recipe Below

Frikadeller

  • 1/2 pound ground pork
  • 1/2 pound ground veal
  • 1/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup grated onion
  • 1/4 bread crumbs
  • 1 egg
  • 1/4 cup Tonic water
  • 1/4 cup flour
  • salt and pepper (The essential danish spices!)
  • 1/4 butter
  1. Beat the veal and pork with an electric mixer.
  2. Add the milk, onion, egg and  bread crumbs and beat with mixer
  3. Knead in Flour
  4. Stir in tonic water, and S&P
  5. Chill mixture for 15 minutes
  6. Heat butter in a skillet over medium heat
  7. To form meatballs, scoop up about 2 1/2 tablespoons of meat mixture with a large spoon, and form the mixture into a slightly flattened, oval meatball about the size of a small egg. Place the meatballs into the heated skillet, and fry for about 4 minutes per side, until the meatballs are well-browned and no longer pink in the center.
2 responses to “Frika what? Frikadeller! AKA Danish Meatballs

  1. Pingback: A Smelly Affair- Cooked Red Cabbage « The Savoury Starving Student·

  2. This meal was amazing! And so is frikadeller! I haven’t had any homemade ones (other than the ones you made me) because I don’t live with a Danish family unfortunately. I need to find a family in the next 2 weeks that can make them for me… otherwise, we will just have to have a Danish feast when I return!!

Leave a Reply

