Mac the Cheese!

So it is time to finally unveil my weekly feature idea that I have been toying with for the past week. This idea came about last Saturday while enjoying my weekly bowl/box of KD (or Mac and Cheese for you non-Canadians out there) I realized that I can’t be the only student out there that loves this cheesy delight. In fact, I know MANY students that live off this boxed delicacy.

Golden Delicious

Now, this realization got my idea factory going. While most people like their KD plain-Jane stlye (AKA following the recipe on the box), i like to experiment with this student staple. From this Saturday on, I hope to share with each and everyone of you my attempts at making boxed Mac and Cheese the most delicious it can be. Now I do require your help, if you have any suggestions on ways I can modify Mac and Cheese let me know and I’ll add them to the growing list of ideas.You comment, tweet me, or whip me off an email (glamb36 AT google DOT com) to let me know your best modifications to my favourite boxed dinner.

This week’s is pretty similar to the plain-Jane concept that many students prescribe to.  By this, I mean you don’t require any additional ingredients beyond the butter and milk the box calls for.  I like to call this version the Helping the Heart Attack KD due to the copious amounts of butter required for this recipe. Despite the health risks associated with this recipe, I think its well worth its potential health costs.

Recipe Below

Golden Delicious

Follow the normal cooking instructions for the KD.  When making the sauce add 5 tablespoons of butter and let it melt in the pot with the pasta, add the powdered cheese and finally add 1 tablespoon milk.  Stir and enjoy.

Warning!

Remember to do some form of physical exercise afterwords otherwise you might suffer some kind of permanent damage to your heart.

3 responses to “Mac the Cheese!

  1. hey gordo! loving your blog here!
    this isn’t what you’re asking for, but i used to be a kd lover until my mom found this recipe for homemade mac and cheese, and i’ve never been able to go back.
    1 lb elbow macaroni
    2 cups milk
    2 cups grated cheddar cheese (sharp! this makes the difference)
    2 tablespoons butter
    2 tablespoons flour
    1/4 teaspoon paprika
    1 teaspoon dijon mustard
    salt and pepper

    1. boil pasta, drain very well about a minute under al dente
    2. combine flour and butter to make a roux, let cook for a minute or two, then add milk, dijon, paprika (and salt and pepper to taste)
    3. stir the lumps of the roux out, and when it comes to a gentle boil, add cheese.
    4. stir until cheese is melted, then pour over the pasta in a large casserole dish. stir, bake at 350 for 25 minutes. if you want, add a little extra cheese on the top in the last five minutes.
    serves four hungry students quite well.
    svp

  2. Hi Gord,

    Just stumbled on your blog. As a bit of a foodie, I’m intrigued – especially by this KD post. I know I’m a bit late, but I’d like to contribute, if I may. Those of us who love to cook don’t always WANT to cook, but we still want to eat something good and filling. Which brings me to my variation – KD a la carbonara. Recipe follows:

    1 Box KD
    1 cup cream
    2 eggs
    4 strips smokey bacon, chopped
    3 tbsp grated parmesan
    black pepper

    Cook bacon and reserve. Beat eggs and combine with cream, parmesan, cheese packet and pepper to taste. Prepare macaroni. Drain when ready and add eggs/cream while macaroni is still hot. Stir until eggs begin to congeal (you may need to heat on low). Stir in bacon and consume. Hope you enjoy!

Leave a Reply

