Basil and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

Today I decided to treat myself.

While doing my weekly grocery shopping to get ready for this week’s worth of blog posts, I came across the most delicious looking tomatoes.  These plump ruby red tomatoes were just dying to be used in a fantastic recipe.  Luckily I had the perfect treat in mind for these tempting plum tomatoes: My Basil and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

This recipe is my secret weapon.  For every potluck I’m invited to, I whip up a batch of this bruschetta and prepare to be showered with compliments.  I’m not going to lie when it comes to potlucks, I’m FIERCELY competitive.I know it sounds shallow to compete at something as common-place as a potluck but hey, like this public service announcement says, “everyone is good at something.” For me, it’s pot lucks.

My advice for this recipe is cut everything fairly fine.  First off it makes the recipe streach farther (which can help cut down on fist fights over the snack at potlucks) and secondly it just makes it easier to eat.  Also, the longer you let the bruschetta sit, the tastier it gets.  The acid in the vinegar helps to “cook” the tomatoes a bit, which I think strengthens the recipe. Finally, another important thing to note is fresh basil is a must.  This recipe is not nearly as good with dried basil.

I chose to serve this batch of bruschetta with a delicious freshly baked sourdough loaf, but any good sturdy bread will work.  For you celiacs out there, the bruschetta recipe itself is wheat free, just find a good bread or cracker to dig in.

The utlimate potluck companion

**UPDATE**

So five hours after making this recipe, my roommate and I have devoured approx. 80% of this batch of recipe.  Apparently our will power is ineffective against this recipe.

Recipe Below

  • 6 Plum Tomatoes, seeded and diced
  • 1/4 cup fresh basil, shredded
  • 1/2 cup sun dried tomatoes in oil, diced
  • 3 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1/4 cup olive oil
  • 2 tables spoons balsamic vinegar
  • 1/4 cup onion, diced
  • 1/4 t salt AND pepper
  1. Combine all the ingredients and let rest for at least 30 minutes.
  2. Serve on fresh bread, crackers, or whatever tickles your fancy
One response to “Basil and Sun-Dried Tomato Bruschetta

  1. Pingback: Chocolate Strawberry Cream Cheese Pie | The Savoury Starving Student·

Leave a Reply

