Tofu and Broccoli Peanut Stir Fry

Well as promised here is another tofu recipe to use up the rest of my tofu for the week.  I came across this recipe while reading one of the several food blogs that I follow. I discovered this blog about a week ago and have been trolling its archives for some great recipe ideas.  Actually funny enough, Laura (the blogger of I’m losing it here) has used some similar recipes in her blog(Vietnamese salad rolls and the sweet potato burritos).  I feel like we would get along if we met in real life, despite our age differences since we have so much in common. ( food and being frugal, to name a few)

Now, one thing you should know about me is I have this strange love for saucy broccoli.  To give a little background, I live with two amazing roommates, neither of which who have a passion for food but try their hardest in the kitchen. (well, sometimes)  One of my roommates, Alex, has invented this dish called Chickpea Surprise, where she throws everything she has in the fridge into a wok and then adds some chickpeas.  Generally it works out really well and she enjoys it.  Now, Alex also has the weird obsessions with textures and one of the textures she often craves is slightly cooked broccoli with lots of sauce.  After sampling her chickpea surprises, I totally appreciate this craving and have started to develop an inkling for the sensation as well.

As soon as I read this recipe I knew it would satisfy any craving I would have for saucy broccoli and I was excited to try it out.  The idea of cooking with peanut putter didn’t turn me off in the slightest.  I have a great recipe for Thai chicken that uses peanut butter and I will hopefully share that recipe with you readers in the coming days.

My advice for this recipe includes

  • The more broccoli the better.  I found that I ended up eating most of the broccoli the first night I had this recipe.  Not that I don’t love tofu, I just wanted some veg the second and third night I ate this
  • This recipe is one of those recipes that everything is going on at the same time. The sauce, the tofu, the rice and everything that’s being stir-fry all seem to demand your attention all at once. Make the sauce before you start anything and don’t forget about the rice and you should be good.  (I made that mistake and completely forgot about the rice until I was finished everything else.  WORST 15 minutes of my life )

For you celiacs, this recipe is gluten free as long as your soy sauce and rice vinegar are wheat-free.  I don’t think you should have to worry too much about the rice vinegar, but I know that manufactures LOVE to sneak flour into soy sauce so be careful.  I know my favourite wheat-free soy sauce is this VH one. Completely wheat-free at no extra cost! How’s that for being frugal?

Recipe Below

  • 1 pound firm tofu
  • 1 pound of broccoli
  • 1 T veg. oil
  • 1 whole onion, sliced
  • 1 T ginger, grated
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 4 green onions, sliced
  • 3/4 cup peanut butter
  • 3/4 warm water
  • 5 T rice vinegar
  • 3 T soy sauce
  • 3 T molasses or Brown sugar
  1. Mix the peanut butter into the hot water until well blended. Add the remaining ingredients and whisk together. If you use molasses, be sure to whisk the sauce again right before using because some of the molasses can settle at the bottom.
  2. Cut the tofu into small squares and boil them in water for about 10 minutes. Drain and set them aside
  3. Cut the broccoli into small pieces keeping only the florets and stalk
  4. Heat oil in a skillet over medium heat.
  5. Fry the onions for 2 minutes
  6. Add broccoli, ginger, garlic and continue to cook for 5 minutes
  7. Add tofu and green onion and continue to cook for 3 minutes
  8. Add sauce and warm through
  9. Serve over Rice
One response to “Tofu and Broccoli Peanut Stir Fry

  1. Pingback: Thai Chicken Pizza « The Savoury Starving Student·

Leave a Reply

