Grapefruit and Mint Quinoa Salad

Here is part two of fellow blogger Hilary‘s victory dinner after her successful completion of my Tofu Challenge.

I decided to push Hilary’s culinary horizons by introducing her to quinoa, a versatile and delicious South American grain that often gets ignored in the North American pallet

I first came across this recipe on the food blog Eating Well Living Thin.  The moment I read the post I knew I HAD to make it. I’m a big fan of grain salads and the thought of trying to mix grapefruit and mint sounded too good to pass up. Hilary’s victory was the perfect excuse to run off to my local bulk food store and stock up on quinoa.

While Linda, the author of Eating Well Living Thin, used pre-cut grapefruit, I choose to make quick work of fresh one with a steak knife.  While it might have cost me a few minutes, I had the satisfaction of knowing when my fruit was picked.

Beyond that I didn’t deviate too much from the recipe.  One thing I would note is that slivered almonds would work a lot better then almond pieces.  I used almonds that were, as I would describe, diced and I found that the big crunch of the almonds took away from the rest of the salad.  Then again I was a little greedy and added more than the proscribed 2 tablespoons of sliced almonds.

I ended up using honey as I don’t normally stock agave nectar in my pantry. (nor do I really know what it is). But I do like Linda’s instructions on how to cook Quinoa, so if you are ever confused make quick reference to her blog.

Another great feature of this salad is its completely gluten-free.  Unlike many other grains, Quinoa is celiac friendly as it doesn’t contain that pesky protein that gives them so much trouble.

In the end, I think both Hilary and I enjoyed this recipe and I will definitely make it again, especially on a scorching hot Ottawa summer day.  The cold grapefruit and cool mint really worked together with the rest of the salad.  It truly is a refreshing dish and makes for a great snack

Hilary enjoyed the salad SO much that she took a little doggy bag of it home.  I don’t know if that was just to flatter me or if she really did love it that much but all in all I would dub this salad a smashing success.

Recipe Below

  • 2 cups cooked quinoa
  • 1 large cucumber, peeled, seeded and diced
  • 2/3 cups grapefruit, diced (reserve juice)
  • 2 green onions, diced
  • 2 T Sliced almonds
  • 1 T fresh mint, minced
  • 3 T Olive Oil
  • 2 T Grapefruit juice
  • 1 1/2 T Honey
  • 1 T Rice Vinegar
  • 1/8 t cinnamon
  • 1/8 t ginger
  • 1/8 t cumin
  • 1/8 t Salt
  • 1/8 t Pepper
  1. In a large bowl combine the first six ingredients
  2. In a small bowl, whisk together the remaining ingredients and pour over quinoa mixture
  3. Stir and enjoy
Leave a Reply

