Blog Challenge #1 – Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

Last week, my friend and fellow blogger Hilary challenged me to do something I had never done before.  At times, the thought of doing this had sent me crawling to bed in fear, but with blogger cred on the line, I knew that there was no backing down.

Before starting this challenge, I always thought that baking a pie was one of the most challenging things to do in the kitchen.  The combination of making a pie crust and then filling it with a delicious fruity centre seemed like an impossible task.

Well, I’m glad to tell you baking a pie is, to use a cliche, “easy as pie.”  I was fortunate to come across a great pie crust recipe from the blog Annie’s Eats. Annie’s recipe contains easy to follow and clear instructions. I also enjoyed her photos which made me feel comfortable with the whole process.   I honestly have no additions to her instructions and feel that you are better off reading her work rather than me trying to reproduce it.

On thing to note is if you are planning on topping your pie with a crust is you need to double Annie’s recipe.  I did this with no problem.

For the filling, I couldn’t resist using the fresh strawberries from my local grocer.  I had never purchased rhubarb before but found that the two stalks I used worked well enough. I just made sure I weighed the stalks at the grocery before I bought them.   If you are wondering how to chop the rhubarb, i just sliced it no more than a 1/2 cm thick.

One trick to know if your pie is done is check to see if any juices are rising out of the slits that you make in the upper crust.  If you see any, that means your strawberry rhubarb pie all done.

One other piece of advice that ensures the pie isn’t runny is: after you have finished baking it, turn off the oven and let the pie rest inside the oven for 20 minutes.

Recipe Below

  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 1 pound rhubarb, sliced
  • 2 pints (small containers) strawberries, sliced
  • 1 double pie crust recipe (or a double batch of annie’s recipe)
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 egg yolk
  1. Preheat the oven to 375 degrees
  2. In a large bowl mix the flour and sugar
  3. Add strawberries and rhubarb and toss to coat
  4. Let rest for 30 minutes
  5. Fill pie shell with strawberry mixture
  6. Place upper crust on pie shell and seal the pie by pinching around the entire pie using water to help.
  7. Make a few slits in the top of the pie to allow steam to vent
  8. Using a pastry brush, brush top with egg yolk.
  9. Bake for 35-40 minutes until done *see hint above
  10. Turn off oven and let the pie rest for 20 minutes
  11. Take the pie out of the oven and cool on pie rack
4 responses to “Blog Challenge #1 – Strawberry Rhubarb Pie

  1. Gordon Lamb,

    As supremely happy as I am that you are branching out into desserts and furthermore into my favorite area. . .PIES. . . I am also supremely disappointed that I was not contacted when this strawberry rhubarb pie was undertaken. I have been making and baking pies for years and the Strawberry Rhubarb one is my speciality! We all know that bruschetta is your in the pot pot luck dish but the Strawberry Rhubarb pie is mine! Why do you think I have friends? (I know you just thought something mean about me not having any friends but I am going to let it go) Because I make the best pies! Specifically Strawberry Rhubarb! I make Strawberry Rhubarb crisp, Rhubarb muffins Rhubarb coffee cake. . . I could go one but your poor readers have probably turned away from this by now. This is my time of year, the rhubarb time fo year. Rhubarb desserts are how I make it through the summer because you know how I feel about the summer! You insisted on adding this bog to my list of favorites and so I showed you the courtesy of reading it. I am no longer sure that was the right idea. If I had continued in my blogless bliss I would not be feeling so insulted right now.
    Also in case you do not check this enough I have also sent my rant in text message form.

  2. Pingback: Gord’s Dinner, Part One: Chickpea Tabbouleh Salad «·

  3. Pingback: A Horrible Hiatus – Peach and Blackberry Pie « The Savoury Starving Student·

Leave a Reply

