Black Bean Burgers and Rice and Lentil Salad

Its official. The heat is getting to me.

For the past week Ottawa has been going through a severe heat wave and with that wave has come something that I thought was impossible; I have lost my appetite.  As a 20-something university student, I am ALWAYS hungry, but after working long days in the blistering heat, I am coming home from work both too tired and too hot to start cooking. Luckily, I had the day off today, so I willed myself to make a delicious meal that wouldn’t heat up the house more than mother nature was already doing.

I settled on two different recipes that excited my taste-buds enough to warrant the trek out into the blistering heat to buy groceries for my depleted kitchen stockpile.  What appealed to me the most about the  Rice and Lentil Salad was that it was chilled.  There is nothing like having a cold salad waiting for you in the fridge on a hot summer’s days.

My advice for the lentil salad though is to  follow the instructions on the lentil package to the T.  I always seem to have difficulty cooking lentils that keep their shape.  Lentil soup I’m a master at, as I’ve blogged about before, but getting those pesky buggers to hold their shape is another story.  Unfortunately my lentils didn’t quite make it this time, but I still mixed in the lentil “slop” with the rice.  In the end the salad tasted phenomenal but the presentation wasn’t at its finest.

On the other hand, the burgers came out perfectly.  The trick with these puppies is to make sure you remove as much moisture as you can before you form the patties.  This means, when you rinse the beans make sure you pat them dry with a paper towel afterwards.  Beyond that, cooking the burgers is fairly simple.  I used an electric grill to cook mine, but you can also use the barbecue or the oven.

All and all a good culinary experience!

Recipes BelowBlack Bean Burgers (Gluten Free)

  • One can of black beans
  • 1/2 green pepper, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 an onion, peeled and diced
  • 3 cloves of garlic, peeled
  • 1 egg
  • 1 T ground cumin
  • 1 T chili powder
  • 1 t hot sauce
  • 1/2 cup bread crumbs
  1. Rinse and dry the black beans
  2. Mash them with a fork until thick and pasty
  3. In a food processor, combine onion, garlic and green pepper until finely chopped
  4. Stir in onion mixture in to black beans
  5. Mix chili powder and cumin with egg and then add to black bean mixture
  6. Form four patties and cook on electric grill fora bout 10 minutes to ensure heating all the way through.
3 responses to “Black Bean Burgers and Rice and Lentil Salad

Leave a Reply

