Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

One of the perks of summertime here in Ottawa is the Ottawa Farmer’s Market.  The market which runs twice a week (Thursday Nights and all day Sunday) provides Ottawans with an opportunity to nab some delicious and local produce.  In fact, the market has a made a commitment to invite mostly farmers from within 100 km of Ottawa.  I say mostly because the farmer that I’ve recently started working with actually hails from Grimsby Ontario which is near St. Catherine’s.  Torrie, the farmer I work for, has been invited to the market because he is able to offer a wide range of fruits while most of the farmers in the Ottawa region are vegetable farmers.

There are definitely perks associated with working with a farmer.  Last Sunday, I left work with over $60 in fresh produce which  I have been gorging on for the past 5 days.  One of the many different fruits and vegetables, I walked away with on Sunday was Zucchini.

One thing I love about this delicious, versatile veggie is that it has so many applications. Besides today’s post, I have a few other ideas on how I’m going to use this practical squash.  Stay tuned for additional posts dedicated to this talented veggie in the near future.

My first adventure this week with Zucchini comes in the form of Zucchini bread.  I grew up loving this easy to bake bread but never knowing its true secret ingredient.  I’ll admit, as a youngster I hated to eat this squash.  Something about it didn’t appeal to me and it would not let it past my lips.  So, whenever my mom made this recipe she wouldn’t tell me what was in it and I gobbled it down like the chubby, greedy kid from Charlie and the Chocolate Factory.

Ironically, my roommate Laura is a sometimes picky eater.  When she asked what was in the bread I just told her it was Carrot Cake with Chocolate Chips.  Only after she ate it, did I reveal the truth about the bread.  By that point, I had won her over to eating squash in bread format.

The trick with this recipe is to not over bake the bread.  Check on the loaf at 40 minutes and see how its doing. If its a little soft on the top, that’s when I like to take it out.  Its a whole different experience when its moist and slightly gooey.  If you like your bread a little bit more well done, try this test: push down on the top of the loaf, if the loaf pushes back, you know the loaf is done.  If not just give it a few more minutes.

Another cool trick is if you are overwhelmed by the amount of zucchini that’s coming out of your garden/job, grate all of it up and measure it out into recipe size portions.  Store it in ziplock bags and freeze them. Just defrost the grated squash before you use it and you can enjoy garden fresh zucchini breads all year long!

NOTE I only have one bread pan so instead of waiting to use my pan for a second time I just made muffins as well. These also turned out great just back them for 15-20 minutes instead of the normal 40-60

Recipe Below

Chocolate Chip Zucchini Bread

  • 3 cups Flour
  • 1 t baking soda
  • 1 t baking powder
  • 3 t cinnamon
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 cup Vegetable oil
  • 2 1/4 sugar
  • 3 t vanilla extract
  • 2 cups zucchini, grated and packed
  • 1 cup Chocolate chips
  1. Combine the flour, baking power, baking soda, and cinnamon in one bowl. Stir to mix
  2. In another bowl combine eggs, oil, sugar, vanilla and beat until combined
  3. Slowly add the dry ingredients to the wet ones making sure everything is combined.
  4. Stir in zucchini and chocolate chips just until they are combined
  5. Pour mixture into 2 greased cake pans
  6. Bake in a 325 degree preheated oven for 40-60 minutes.
Leave a Reply

