A Beet Failure and a Beet Succes!

Last night I had my first kitchen failure for a planned blog project.  I ended up making something so gross that I threw it out after only three bites. But I digress, lets start from the very beginning:

The idea for this post began when I received two bundles of beets from working at the farmer’s market.  I got the idea to do a whole post on the concept of using all parts of the vegetable as a cheap and sustainable way of cooking.  I thought to myself, “How perfect! A creative way to show my readers a way to make two dishes out of the same vegetable.”

Alas this did not work out the way I wanted. I ended up marking a delicious beet salsa, which will be discussed below, as well as, sauteed beet greens which were the disastrous ones. Suffice it to say, I will never, I repeast, NEVER try this recipe again. I don’t think there are any modifications I could make to warrant trying it again.

Well enough of the negative and on to the positive.

The beet salsa turned out delicious. I ended up adding it to a chicken wrap and I was pleasantly surprised at how it turned out. It was the perfect mix of sweet and acidity.

I really don’t have any real tips for this recipe besides, I ran the cooked beats under cold water after they were done in order for me to be able to  handle them. The only other piece of advice I have is don’t cut off the tops or the bottoms of the beets before cooking, this will make them bleed and lose all their colour.

This recipe we would be great on top of burgers, with cooked meats, or in a sandwich or wrap. Definitely experiment and let your taste buds guide you!

Recipe BelowBeet Salsa

  • 200 grams or 1 bundle of beets
  • 2 cloves of garlic, diced
  • 1 small red onion, chopped
  • 1 T fresh ginger, grated
  • 2 T Lime Juice
  • 2 T Olive oil
  • Salt and Pepper to taste
  1. Boil the beets in lightly salted water
  2. When you can pierce the largest one with a fork easily, drain the water and rinse beets under cold water
  3. Rub skin off
  4. Cool beets and then dice them
  5. Combine all the ingredients in a large bowl and set in the fridge
  6. Let rest for a minimum of 2 hours.
  7. Enjoy
One response to “A Beet Failure and a Beet Succes!

  1. Hey Gord,

    This is a friendly note from your Ponderosa peeps. We enjoyed beet succesS. The cherries are blossoming, no corn yet, although we’re still eating it?!? We’ve just enjoyed a lovely bruschetta appy, along with a delicious velveta and rotelle dip! In those go…. well you can figure that out! Keep up the good work- maybe next year, you can cook for all of us and blog from here!

    Hope all is well, we’ll think of you as we eat this week.

    -Emily, Meredith, Joan, Joan, Keith, Randy, Mo, Christiane, Carol, Vanda, Peter and Angela!

Leave a Reply

