A Student Splurge – Homemade Pesto

Last week, I went on a MASSIVE errand run with my roommate Alex.  We went from store to store; searching for the best back to school specials in order to stock our closets with some new fall apparel.  Along the way, we took a detour to our local Value Village to dig through the piles and piles of used clothing for hidden gems.  While browsing through the used books, I came across two cookbooks from a series of cookbooks called the Best of Bridge.  These books were used non-stop by my family while I was growing up and I was delighted to find a couple of them to add to my small but growing collection of cookbooks.

While flipping through Winners, one of the two cookbooks that I ended up buying, I came across a recipe for pesto.  Now, I should make it clear that I can put pesto on anything and think it’s delicious, so I thought it would be appropriate to make it from scratch rather than shelling out another 5 dollars for a new jar of this green garlicky goodness.

Making pesto was the easy part of this recipe. Essentially you just have to drop everything into a food processor, blitz it for a few seconds and voila, instant pesto. The hard part was paying for all the ingredients.  While I already had the oil and the garlic and I don’t mind paying for fresh basil, the pine nuts and the Parmesan cheese nearly bankrupt me.  In the end I paid 17 dollars for all my ingredients and probably had enough pesto for 7 or 8 servings.  That works to being about $2.40 a serving JUST for the pesto.  Let’s just say, I won’t be making this too often, but it was definitely a nice treat.

Recipe Below

  • 4 cloves of garlic, crushed
  • 2 cups Fresh Basil,
  • 1/2 cup Parmesan cheese, freshly grated
  • 1/4 cup pine nuts
  • 1/2 cup olive oil
  1. Combine garlic, basil cheese and pine nuts in food processor and blend until smooth
  2. While pureeing add olive oil in a steady stream until the consistency of thick mayo

* Pesto can be stored in the fridge for several weeks*

Source – Winners – Best of Bridge Publishing LTD

Leave a Reply

