Soup Season – A New Beginning – Black Bean Soup

Now that the weather is getting a little cooler, I can start to fathom the idea of making soup.  Over the summer, I have a tendency to neglect one of my favourite foods out of fear of melting in the blistering heat but now that its getting  a little frostier (at times), I becoming more comfortable with the idea of trying out some new delicious soup recipes!

The first soup of the season came from one of my Value Village cookbook finds.  The recipe that I based my black bean soup off of can be found in the Best of Bridge’s That’s Trump volume. I was was initially attracted to this recipe for a few reasons. One, is that its fairly cheap to make. The recipe works out to about $1.25 per portion. The recipe also makes 6 portions, so you can feed of this soup for awhile. Secondly I love black beans, they are one of my favourite ingredients to work with, so that was definitely a contributing factor to me decision to make this soup.

My one complaint for this recipe was that it was all one texture. I prefer a  soup that is a bit more hearty and gives the eater something to sinking his teeth into.  My solution to this problem was to serve the soup with a few taco chips which added a nice crunch. I topped my soup with some sour cream and few chopped green onions to add some colour.  All in all, I definitely enjoyed this recipe and it was a great start to the 2010/2011 soup season!

Recipe Below

  • 2 Cups, dried black beans
  • 2 Onions chopped
  • 3 Garlic cloves, minced
  • 2 Stalks celery, chopped
  • 1 T Olive Oil
  • 2 T Chili powder
  • 1 t Hot Pepper Sauce
  • 1 Jalapeno, chopped
  • 2 t Oregano
  • 1 t cumin
  • 1 t fennel seeds
  • 6 cups Chicken Stock
  • 28 oz can stewed tomatoes
  • 4 t Fresh Lime Juice
  • Salt and Pepper
  1. Cover beans with 6 cups of water and bring to boil
  2. Boil for 2 minutes and then remove from heat
  3. Let stand for 1 hour
  4. Drain, rinse and drain beans again
  5. Saute onions, garlic, and celery in oil until softenede
  6. Stir in chili, hot sauce, jalapeno, oregano, cumin and fennel and cook for 1 minute
  7. Add beans and stock and simmer for 1 1/2 hours, until beans are tender
  8. Add tomatoes, lime juice, salt and pepper and simmer for 10 minutes
  9. Puree soup in batches and return to pot and heat
Leave a Reply

