Mini Raspberry Cheesecakes

Hold the presses!  I have made something so delicious that it truly deserves not only its own blog post but its own blog!  The other day, I was scrolling through my bookmarked recipes that I have set aside for this blog and I realized I had this little precious gem that I hadn’t tried out yet.

As you may have remembered from previous posts, I love cream cheese.  It is one of the best things ever created for man (and women) to eat. By extension, this means cheesecake is one the best things known to man because it contains cream cheese. My roommate and I joke that whoever invented cheesecake was an absolute genius. Whoever thought of putting cheese in a cake, deserves some kind of award. (Nobel peace prize anyone?)

The thing I liked about this recipe was that you didn’t need a spring-form pan to make this cheesecake which is awesome because I don’t have one.  For those of you not in the cheesecake making business, a spring-form pan, is a pan that can open from the side to avoid having to dump your cheesecake out of the pan.  This recipes just uses baking cups to circumvent needing the extra hardware.

I was really lucky because I had some leftover raspberries in the freezer from the farmer’s market which were perfect for making the raspberry sauce.  I really liked decorating the cakes because it brought me be back to the days when I worked in cafe and had to make latte art.

The same techniques apply when decorating these cheesecakes as making latte art. One way to make a pretty cheesecake  (or a latte) is to make a thick line of raspberry sauce along the cupcake and then use a toothpick to make three perpendicular lines through the sauce.  This will make some pretty chevron shapes to class up your cupcakes.

Recipe Below

  • 3/4 cup graham cracker crumbs
  • 2 T butter, melted
  • 1 1/2 T Sugar
  • 1/2 cup raspberries
  • 2 T sugar
  • 1 brick Cream Cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • pinch of salt
  • 1 t Vanilla
  • 1 egg, room temperature
  1. Preheat oven to 325.
  2. Line Muffin tin with baking cups
  3. In a bowl combine crumbs, butter and salt.
  4. Stir until ingredients are combined and moist
  5. Press 1 T of mixture into each baking cup.
  6. Press down using a cup or firm surface. (I used a shot glass)
  7. Bake for 5 minutes
  8. To make raspberry sauce, us a blender or food processor, blend raspberries and 1 1/2 T sugar until smooth
  9. Set aside
  10. To make cream cheese filling, mix cream cheese until fluffy.
  11. Add sugar and beat until smooth
  12. Add salt and vanilla, beat until smooth
  13. Add the egg and beat until combined
  14. To assemble cake add 3 T of cream cheese mixture to the baking cup and top with 1/2 t raspberry sauce
  15. Run a toothpick through the unbaked cupcake to create a marbled effect
  16. Bake for 22 minutes and then remove to cooling rack
  17. When room temperature, chill in fridge for 4 hours
  18. Eat and enjoy!

Source : Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes via Annie Eats

Leave a Reply

