Hopping on the Pumpkin Bandwagon – Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

Its official, I’ve jumped on the pumpkin/fall bandwagon. That being said, I’m not new to the whole idea of baking with pumpkin, in fact I’m plan on using this seasonal squash again this weekend. But as I scroll through my blog roll and look at the increasing number of posts dedicated to pumpkin cookies, muffins, scones and the like, I can’t help but feel that people need to branch out and embrace pumpkin all year round rather than just when the leaves begin to change colours.

The idea to make pumpkin muffins came after a serious craving for these tasty treats. After walking by Tim Horton’s on a daily basis and staring that their icing filled pumpkin muffins, I decided that I needed to have a stash of my own.

The lucky thing was,I had all the ingredients for this recipe on hand which made things super easy. I found this recipe after surfing around on the Allrecipes for a while. After reading some of the comments on the site, I made some minor adjustments to the seasoning of the batter, but for the most part I left the recipe intact.

Overall, a pretty simple but tasty breakfast treat and it definitely warrants a remake.

Recipe Below

  • 1 Cup canned Pumpkin
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup veg. oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 1/2 cup flour
  • 3/4 t baking powder
  • 1/2 t baking soda
  • 1/4 t cloves
  • 1 1/4 t cinnamon
  • 3/4 t ground ginger
  • 1/2 t nutmeg
  • 1/4 salt
  • 1/2 cup Chocolate Chips
  1. In a large bowl combine, sugar, eggs and oil and beat until combined
  2. Add pumpkin and water and beat until mixed
  3. In a separate bowl, combine dry ingredients and mix thoroughly
  4. Add dry to wet ingredients as well as chocolate chips and stir until JUST combined (to avoid hockey puck muffins)
  5. Fill greased muffin tins to about 2/3 full and bake for 20 minutes at 375
  6. Remove from oven when muffin top “bounces” back after a light touch
  7. Eat and Enjoy!

Recipe adapted from Allrecipes.com

Leave a Reply

