Frugal Foodie – Leftover Wine Couscous Salad

This weekend my roommates and I decided to host a wine tasting.  We got together with friends and hunted for the best under $12 bottle of wine.  Some were good, some were terrible but in the end we had lots of leftover wine.

In order to use it up, I scoured the Internet for great leftover wine recipes.  After a few minutes of searching I came across this recipe for a white wine vinaigrette. Having not grocery shopped in a few days, my cupboards were a bit bare.  I decided that the  best use for this vinaigrette would be over a couscous salad.

I raided my crisper and chopped up a bunch veggies to make a quick and easy dinner.  All in all a nice way to re-purpose some leftovers.

Recipe Below

Couscous Salad

  • 1 cup uncooked couscous
  • White Wine Vinaigrette
  • Assorted veggies, chopped into bite sized pieces (I used red pepper, cucumber, red onion, broccoli)
  1. Cook couscous according to box directions
  2. Toss couscous with assorted veggies and toss with dressing
  3. Serve and enjoy!

White Wine Vinaigrette

  • 1/3 cup white wine
  • 1/4 cup lemon juice
  • 1 T honey
  • 3/4 cup Olive Oil
  • Salt and Pepper
  1. Combine all the ingredients besides the oil in a medium sized bowl
  2. In a constant stream whisk oil into white wine mixture
  3. Serve over favorite salad and enjoy!

3 responses to “Frugal Foodie – Leftover Wine Couscous Salad

  1. Pingback: Poached Salmon with Creamy Dill Sauce | The Savoury Starving Student·

Leave a comment