Poached Salmon with Creamy Dill Sauce

After last week’s wine tasting, my household was left with an abundance of quarter-filled wine bottles and nobody to drink them.  My first attempt at using leftover wine yielded a delicious couscous salad, but I still had more wine to use.

I decided to stretch my culinary muscles and use an ingredient that I had never really used before: fish.  While I’ve used tuna before and made sushi, I’ve never cooked raw fish before.  I decided that I would poach my salmon in some of the leftover wine alongside some fresh dill.  To accompany the fish, I decided that a nice dill sauce would work well.  Coincidentally, the dill sauce recipe I ended up using also called for leftover wine; a perfect way to use up the last of my collection of open wine bottles.

Poaching fish went a lot smoother than I was expecting and I am certain I will do it again.  I hadn’t realized how quickly poaching could cooked the fish. Definitely a great meal if you are in a rush.

Recipe Below

Poached Fish in White Wine

  • 1 pound Salmon fillet – Skin On
  • 1/2 cup white wine
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 5 slices of onion
  • 4/5 sprigs of of fresh dill
  • Ground pepper
  1. Combine water, wine, onion and dill in a frying pan.
  2. Heat over medium until it begins to boil
  3. Place fillets skin side down and cover
  4. Cook for 5 minutes until opaque
  5. Serve with fresh ground pepper

Creamy Dill Sauce

  • 2 T Butter
  • 1/2 Cup White Wine
  • 3 T Fresh Dill, chopped,
  • 1 cup sour cream
  • 1 t dry mustard
  • Salt and Pepper
  1. In a sauce pan, melt butter over low heat
  2. Add wine and half of the dill
  3. Raise heat to medium and boil liquid until reduced to a 1/4 cup of liquid
  4. Reduce heat and add sour cream and mustard
  5. Season with salt and pepper and add remain dill
  6. Serve over fish and enjoy

 

Leave a Reply

