Kitchen Sink Risotto or How I’ve learned to embrace my carb loving habits

I always find it amazing how quickly a food can become one of your favourites. While most of the time when I blog for this site, I will try a recipe, eat it, find it delicious, and file it away thinking that one day I will remake the recipe when I am too lazy to make something new.

One recent exception to this pattern seems to be risotto. In the past few months, whenever I lack inspiration to try out a new recipe, I go straight for risotto. While you long term readers might remember my disaster with risotto about a year ago, I have since become confident in my ability to create a delicious rice-based meal.

I find one of the strongest factors for my recent habit of choosing risotto when I am feeling less than inspired is the fact you can throw pretty much anything into risotto and it will turn out delicious. I’ve made it a habit these past few months to always have arborio rice and a litre of veggie or chicken stock on hand.  After those two ingredients, the worlds your oyster. Got a few leftover arugula leaves lying around? Throw it into the pot! Ditto for that leftover bacon lying around.  Pretty much as long as the ingredients you add work well together, you will have a tasty result.

Essentially, what I am trying to say is once you’ve mastered the art of making risotto, you can throw away the recipe and experiment with the veggies/meats that you enjoy or have on hand.  Attached below, is a Savoury Student original, that I crafted last weekend for a dinner with my friend Nick. As a side note stay tuned to Hilary Makes for another risotto recipe, that both Hilary and I crafted while traveling in Europe.

I hope you enjoy!

Recipe BelowKitchen Sink Risotto

Serves 3/4 (depending on appetites)

  • 1 cup Arborio  rice
  • 1 T Olive oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 T Butter
  • 1 cup mushrooms, diced
  • 1 zucchini, diced
  • 1 onion, diced
  • 250 grams sausage, casing removed, friend and drained
  • 1 1/2 cup arugula, washed and diced
  • 1/8 cup sun-dried tomatoes, sliced
  • 1/2 cup fresh basil, washed, stemmed and chopped
  • 1/2 cup white wine (more if you like the flavour)
  • 1 tetra-pack of chicken or veggie stock
  1. Melt butter in a frying pan over medium heat
  2. Add onion, mushrooms and zucchini and fry until cooked (about 6 or 7 minutes)
  3. In a small pot, bring stock to a boil then reduce heat and keep simmering.
  4. Meanwhile, in a larger pot, heat olive oil over medium heat
  5. Add rice and garlic and fry for 2 minutes until rice is glossy.
  6. Add the wine to the rice and stir until absorbed.
  7. Add stock one ladle at a time, only adding more once the rice has absorbed all the liquid.
  8. Be sure to stir often, to prevent the rice from sticking to the bottom of the pot.
  9. Continue adding stock for about 15 minutes, until the rice is almost cooked, then add onion, mushrooms, zucchini, sausage, sun-dried tomatoes, basil and arugula.
  10. Continue adding stock for about 5 more minutes until the rice is cooked; keeping careful not to over cook the rice.
  11.  Serve and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

