Something different for breakfast – Tomato and Goat Cheese Muffins

Hello 2012!

After a wonderfully relaxing trip to Alberta, I’m back in frigid Ottawa.  While Calgary was nearly +12 when I left, coming back to a brisk -18 degree Ottawa was less than enjoyable.  To cheer myself up and to get back into the routine of having to prepare my own meals, I decided to crack open a cookbook that I had gotten myself for my birthday last September. The William-Sonoma cookbook has been sitting on  my shelf, basically untouched, since I bought it. A few days ago, I decided to flag all the recipes that I was interested in trying over the next semester.

Thirty sticky-notes later, I had a list filled with new ideas.  One of the recipes that I flagged was the write-up for the Tomato and Goat Cheese Muffins.  I don’t know if it was the goat cheese or savoury aspect of the muffins that did it for me, but this recipe went right to the top of my “to make” list.

I can’t say I was disappointed with this recipe.  Served warm, these muffins are an utter treat! Gooey goat cheese and warm tomatoes are definitely a nice breakfast surprise. Fairly straightforward, these muffins probably took about 45 minutes to make.  My only complaint is that the recipe only yields 11 muffins – not nearly enough at the rate they are currently disappearing.

The recipe calls for chickpea flour – something I’ve never used before – but a quick trip to the bulk bins at Ottawa’s Herb and Spice ensured that I was stocked with just enough for the recipe.

Nevertheless, these muffins will present a nice change to my normal breakfast routine of bagels or oatmeal.

Recipe bellow

  • 6 T Butter
  • 4 green onions, finely chopped
  • 3 T basil
  • 2 crushed garlic cloves
  • 1 1/2 cups All-Purpose Flour
  • 1 cup Chickpea Flour
  • 3 1/2 t Baking Powder
  • 1/2 t Salt
  • 1 1/4 cup Milk
  • 2 Eggs
  • 90g Goat Cheese, cut into small chunks
  • 1 large plum tomato, diced
  1. Preheat oven to 375
  2. Melt the butter in a frying pan and add the green onion and garlic. Fry for 2-3 minutes, until the onion is tender.
  3. Stir in basil and remove from heat.
  4. In a large bowl combine the flours, salt and baking powder. Form a small well in the middle of the flour mixture.
  5. In a small bowl, combine milk and eggs and whisk until frothy.
  6. Pour milk and butter mixtures into the flour mixture.
  7. Stir until all the flour is moistened. (avoid over-stirring)
  8. Fill muffin tins half way with batter.
  9. Press a piece of goat cheese and a few chunks of the batter into the middle of the muffins.
  10. Top muffin tins with remain batter until level with the rim of the cup.
  11. Bake for 18-20 minutes until sides are golden and tops spring to your touch.
  12. Cool on wire rack and remove from tins after 5-10 minutes.
  13. Enjoy!

 

 

Leave a Reply

