Risotto Cakes

I’ve mentioned this before on the blog but I LOVE Risotto.  Anytime I am struggling to think of what to make for dinner, I have a tendency to turn to this delicious meal and gorge.

One of the biggest problems I have with risotto though is I never have enough for leftovers. One of my worst habits is I pick at it throughout the day resulting in a less than satisfying meal when dinner finally comes around.  When I came across the recipe for risotto cakes, I had to intentionally make a copious amount of risotto so I could both snack AND make this recipe.

While any risotto recipe will work, I used my favourite sausage and tomato recipe that has been featured on the blog before.  One of my favourite things about this recipe is how quickly it came together. I often struggle with finding recipes that take less than 30 minutes to make. I have a tendency to get caught up in extravagant recipes that take 2+ hours to make.  It’s nice to add something to the repitoire that still results in something delicious but doesn’t take all day to make.

Recipe below

  • Leftover risotto
  • Bread crumbs
  • 1/4 oil
  • 1 egg, scrambled
  1. Over medium heat, add oil to a frying pan and heat until the oil shimmers
  2. In a shallow dish, add scramble egg
  3. In another shallow dish, add breadcrumbs
  4. Form palm sized patties with the risotto about 3 centimetres thick
  5. Toss the patties in the egg first and then the breadcrumbs
  6. Fry breaded patties in oil until crispy and and heated all the way through
  7. Eat and enjoy

Adapted from Stephanie Cooks 

 

Leave a Reply

