Pea Pesto Pasta Salad – My First Meal of Law School

It’s a been a busy few weeks for me.

Last Saturday, I packed up one of my family’s cars and drove out to Vancouver, where I will be completing my law degree for the next three years.  For the first week in Vancouver, I was bunking with my friend Tessa, who is a fellow law student and absolutely gracious host.  We were in orientation for the week, which meant that we didn’t really have time to make any food at home. While I enjoyed crashing at Tessa’s, I was happy to bid farewell to her 6’2″ ceilings. (I’m 6’4″ for the record)

On the first,  I took possession of my own apartment and spent the weekend unpacking boxes and constructing Ikea furniture with the help of my Dad and roommate. Tonight was the first opportunity I had to actually make a real meal here in Vancouver. This recipe has been on my to-do list for quite a while and I was happy that I had the opportunity to make it.

Overall I was pretty pleased with how this recipe turned out.  My only complaint would be that I didn’t use enough spinach.  The original recipe called for a large handful of spinach and I would at least triple it next time. I’ve adjusted the recipe below to reflect edits I would make in the future.

PS where did the summer go?

Recipe Below

Makes about 3 hungry man meals

  • 350 grams smaller pasta (I used wagon wheel)
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/2 cup pesto
  • 3 heaping T of mayonnaise
  • Juice of one half lemon
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 t pepper
  • 1/2 cup of green peas (I cheated and used frozen)
  • 3 large handfuls of spinach, sliced
  • 1/2 cup radish, sliced thinly
  1. Cook pasta according to package instructions, drain and rinse with cold water
  2. Combine mayo, sour cream, pesto, lemon juice, salt, and pepper and whisk until combined
  3. Blanch spinach and peas until bright green, drain and rinse with cold water to prevent further cooking
  4. Combine pasta and dressing and fold in peas, spinach and radishes
  5. Chill for at least an hour and enjoy
Leave a Reply

