Branching Out – Thai Coconut Mussels

I rarely cook with seafood.

It’s a fact.

Maybe it’s because it expensive, maybe it’s because I’m not all that confident making it. But for whatever reason, I find that I rarely flag recipes that contain seafood. Despite the fact that I don’t cook with seafood often, I had been debating making mussels for some time now.

I had been told by numerous people that mussels are incredibly easy to make and it turns out that they were right.  Cooking mussels, it appears, involves making a delicious liquid, bringing it to a boil and then throwing in the mussels until they open.

This recipe worked out well for me, because I normally keep most of the ingredients in stock in my cupboards.  (You never know when coconut milk might come in handy)

I think one of the things I was most concerned about before going out and buying mussels was how to prep them properly.  Debearding as its called, is the process of removing all the weird hairs around the mussel. I found that this tip sheet was particularly useful in calming my pre-mussel nerves.

As it turns out, my mussels were essentially all debearded before I even brought them home, but I went through the entire procedure just to make sure no sand or grit ended up in the sauce.

I served my mussels on a bed of basmati rice and used up the rest of my coconut milk while cooking the rice to give it a bit of a flavour boost.  I also found that about 500g of mussels was good enough for two people to enjoy them for dinner with rice and salad.

Recipe below

  • 500g Mussels, clean and debearded
  • 3 T Lime juice
  • 1/2 can unsweetened coconut milk
  • 3 T white wine
  • 2 1/2 t curry paste
  • 4 cloves garlic, crushed
  • 1 1/2 t fish sauce
  • 1 1/2 t white sugar
  1. Combine all ingredients besides mussels in a pot and bring to a boil
  2. Allow liquid to boil for two minutes and add mussels
  3. Cover pot and cook mussels for 5-8 minutes until they open
  4. Discard any mussel that did not open and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

