Butternut Squash Lasagna Recipe

Butternut Squash Lasagna

Well, tomorrow is my third final (Contract Law) of my first semester of law school and what am I doing?

That’s right… procrastinating.

While I can attempt to justify this post by arguing that bloging must have something to do with Clickwrap agreements or something of the sort, I really just needed a break from the books.

I first came across this recipe on Frugal Feeding, one of my new favourite blogs. I literally have about 10 recipes bookmarked on my MUST MAKE bookmark list and I’ve only gotten to this one so far.

I realize that this is another  recipe that incorporates butternut squash but what can I say? I love it!  What appealed to me about this recipe is how easy it was to make and how delicious the result was.  While the recipe does involve a bit of time commitment, requiring you to first roast the butternut squash and then bake the lasagna, it is well worth the time spent and doesn’t actually require that much active cooking time; perfect for those who are supposed to be studying!

My one piece of advice for this recipe is use a whole bag of spinach for the spinach layer.  I always forget how small spinach gets when it wilts and I definitely had an inadequate amount of spinach in my lasagna.

Recipe Below

  • 1 medium sized butternut squash, peeled and cut into 1 inch chunks
  • 1 onion, roughly chopped
  • 3 cups, milk
  • 1/4 t cinnamon
  • 1/4 t nutmeg
  • 1/4 t pepper
  • 1 bag washed and prepared spinach,
  • 2 cloves garlic, mashed
  • 2 T butter
  • 2 T flour
  • 8 or 9 lasagna noodles (I used dried ones)
  • 2 cups mozzarella cheese, grated
  1. Place the butternut squash and onion on rimmed baking sheet and roast for 25 minutes at 350 until fork tender
  2. Prepare pasta noodles as per box intructions, drain and toss with olive oil to prevent them from sticking to each other
  3. In a frying pan, heat some oil over medium heat and add the garlic
  4. Cook until fragrent and then add spinach
  5. Continue until spinach is wilted then remove from heat. Be sure to squeeze out as much liquid as possible from the spinach
  6. In a sauce pan, melt the butter over medium heat and add the flour, cook for 2 minutes until flour begins to turn golden
  7. Add milk, nutmeg, cinnamon, and pepper. Whisk until sauce begins to thicken and remove from heat.
  8. To assemble the lasagna, put all of the onion and butternut squash on the bottom of a lasagna pan. Top with a layer of pasta, then all of the spinach.  Top this with 1/3 of the milk mixture (about 1 cup), then another layer of pasta. Pour the remainder of the sauce over this and finally top with the grated mozzarella cheese.
  9. Cover and bake for 30 minutes at 350. Remove cover and bake for another 10 minutes until cheese is nice and golden.
  10. Serve and enjoy!

Inspired by Frugal Feeding

One response to “Butternut Squash Lasagna Recipe

Leave a Reply

