Cabbage Roll Inspired Stew

Cabbage Roll Stew
As you may know, last week was Christmas for those belonging to the Orthodox church. To celebrate the occasion, my good friend Victoria invited us over for a delicious dinner of  borscht, cabbage rolls, and perogies – three foods which I love!

In the past, I’ve made perogies and borscht, but I’ve never attempted to make  cabbage rolls. I have heard that they can be fairly labour intensive and now that school has started again for the semester, I wanted to find a short-cut for these tasty treats.  A few days after Orthodox Christmas, I came across this recipe for Cabbage Roll Stew and knew that this would help to fulfil my cravings.

I was drawn to the relatively simple ingredients within the recipe and the short amount of time it would take to prepare the stew. In previous posts, I’ve lamented that I don’t have enough quick 30 minute meals especially now that law school is getting busier and busier.  I’m happy to say that I have one more recipes that I can add to my quick meal arsenal.

All and all delicious!

Makes 4/5 hungry man-sized meals

  • 4 spicy Italian sausages, casings removed
  • 1/2 onion, diced
  • 4 cloves garlic, minced
  • 2 celery stalks, diced
  • 1/2 cup basmati rice
  • 1 bag of tri-coloured coleslaw mix (saves you having to chop all that cabbage)
  • 1 14 oz can of diced tomatoes
  • 3 cups chicken stock
  • 1 cup sauerkraut
  1. Heat a large saucepan over medium heat
  2. Crumble and cook the sausage until slightly brown
  3. Add in onion, garlic and celery, cook for until onions soften
  4. Add rice, stir constantly and cook for 1 minute
  5. Add cabbage, tomatoes (including liquid), chicken broth, and sauerkraut
  6. Bring to a boil, reduce heat to low and cook for 20 minutes until rice is soft.
  7. Serve and enjoy!

Inspired by Everyone Likes Sandwiches 

Leave a Reply

