Strawberry Basil Scones

Strawberry Basil SconesI’m not much of a baker.

There is something about baking that doesn’t really do it for me. I don’t know what it is.  Perhaps because it is fairly passive, having to wait around while things cook in the oven, or all the precise measuring that you have to do; I just find that don’t do it very often.

That being said, I decided to deviate from my non-baker attitude to make these scones and I’m glad that I did.

I’ve had this recipe on my radar for quite a while. In fact, it took me a good 15 minutes to dig the recipe out of my pile of “to make” recipes that just seems to be growing bigger and bigger.  Once I found the recipe, I realized that it was tailored to be dairy-free, using both coconut oil and coconut milk rather than their dairy counterparts.  Since I had already been grocery shopping once that day, assuming that the recipe just called for milk and butter, I decided to adapt the recipe for dairy.

I was really impressed with how these scones turned out. Since I was serving these for brunch, I made the dough, shaped the scones and froze them the night before.  I pulled the scones out of the freezer, when I was preheating the oven and baked them for a few minutes longer than the original recipe had called for.  The scones turned out flaky, buttery and delicious.  I enjoyed how they weren’t particularly sweet as it complimented the odd combo of basil and strawberry.

Strawberry Basil Scones 2

Makes 8 scones

  • 1/2 cup butter, cold cut into small chunks
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1/4 sugar
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1 heaping cup strawberries, diced
  • 2 T basil, chopped
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/2 cup milk
  1. Preheat the oven to 400
  2. In a bowl combine the flour, sugar, salt and baking powder
  3. Using a fork (or pastry cutter) mix in the butter into the flour.  You want to have small pea sized chunks in the dough
  4. Stir in the strawberry and basil until combined
  5. In a small bowl, whisk together the milk and eggs
  6. Pour milk mixture into the flour mixture and stir until combined
  7. On a well-floured surface, turn out the dough and knead it for a few minutes
  8. Pat the dough into a 2 1/2 centimetre thick disk
  9.  Using a sharp knife divide the disk into 8 triangle pieces. (This is the point in which I froze mine)
  10. Place on a baking sheet and bake for 15-18 minutes until golden
  11. Serve enjoy

Inspired by: Soupaddict

Leave a Reply

