Almost “Instant” Ramen

Instant Ramen 2As cliche as it is being a student and all, I have a thing for instant noodles.

Probably a more accurate statement is: I have a thing for Sapporo Icihiban Original Flavoured Instant noodles.  Nothing is more enjoyable to me than a bowl of Icihiban with a few peas and carrots thrown in to convince me that it is healthy.  I’m not a big fan of other brands of instant noodles that just taste like someone took a chicken bullion cube and mixed in some noodles. (Sorry Mr. Noodles)

The thing with instant noodles is that they probably are not the healthiest thing for you to eat.  I haven’t and don’t want to read the back of a package of Icihiban because sometimes ignorance is just better than knowing your favourite food contains 300 per cent of your daily sodium intake.

While surfing the Internet today, I came across a recipe for a home-made version of instant noodles that peaked my interest. It turned out that I had all the ingredients at home  and decided to try it out.  Surprisingly it was quite delicious.

The thing that I enjoyed about the recipe was how versatile everything was.  I ended up throwing whatever vegetables I had lying around in the kitchen and I would encourage you to do the same.  In the end I used: green onions, carrots, broccoli slaw, and peas.  I blanched the slaw, carrots and peas while the noodles were cooking to soften them up a bit.  For ramen noodles, I had a package of plain ramen leftover from a previous recipe, so I used one square of those. If you are having trouble finding packages of just ramen noodles, you definitely could buy a package of instant ramen and just ditch the flavour package for this recipe.

One thing that I might try differently next time is to add a squirt of sriracha into the sauce.  The thought occurred to me while I was eating the noodles, but by that point the fridge just seemed so far away.

Recipe Below

Serves: 1

  • 1/2 veggie bullion cube
  • 500 ml of water
  • 1 1/2 t miso paste (I used red)
  • 1/8 t chilli powder
  • 1 square of ramen noodles
  • Assorted veggies
  1. Whisk together water, bullion cube, chilli powder and miso paste in a small pot
  2. Bring to a boil and add ramen noodles and any veggies that could use a bit of a softening
  3. Cook for 3-4 minutes until noodles are done
  4. Serve and enjoy!
Leave a Reply

